Our Comfort Hotel tom Kyle is located in the city of Kiel. The city received its town charter in 1242 and was then called “Holstenstadt tom Kyle”, meaning “Am Keil”, which translates to “by the wedge”. A look at a map of our town reveals that clearly, the “Keil” (engl. wedge) refers to the wedge form of the bay, the Kiel Fjord. Kiel was founded by Count Adolf IV. of Schauenburg, as were many towns in Schleswig-Holstein at that time. Around the same time, the Franciscan monastery in which our founder lived and later died was founded.

Kiel became a university town on 5 October, 1665. In the neighbourhood of our hotel, you will be able to learn and experience what came of this then small town, since you will find the large university hospital of Kiel close by.

Sadly, many historic buildings are no longer to be found. The city’s oldest building is the Warleberger Hof, which is home to the town museum. One of the wings of the old Kiel castle is also still preserved.

  • Book now using the discount code 'tom kyle 10' via our website and receive 10 € discount per night and room!

    Here’s how it works: Access our booking site and enter the discount code ‘tomkyle10’ on the left, in the box “booking code” when choosing your room and receive your discount right away. This discount is only valid for selected days when booking through our website.

  • 600 m from the Baltic Sea cruise ship terminal (8 min on foot)

  • 800 m from the Old Town / Pedestrian zone (10 min on foot)

  • 2000 m from the main train station / ZOB (25 min on foot)

  • Free access to the gym WellYou across the street

  • Free mineral water in your room

  • 24 h free coffee in the lobby

  • Free HighSpeed WiFi access in all rooms

  • Abundant breakfast buffet

 
Go to top

Das Comfort Hotel tom Kyle befindet sich in Kiel. Diese Stadt erhielt 1242 Stadtrecht und hieß damals Holstenstadt „tom Kyle“ was so viel wie „Am Keil“ oder „Zu dem Keil“ bedeutet. Der Keil ist, wenn man Karten unserer Stadt betrachtet, ganz klar die Kieler Förde. Kiel wurde von Graf Adolf IV. von Schauenburg neu gegründet, wie viele Städte zu dieser Zeit in Schleswig-Holstein. Gleichzeitig entstand auch das Franziskanerkloster in dem unser Stadtgründer später lebte und auch dort verstarb.

Seit dem 5. Oktober 1665 ist Kiel auch Universitätsstadt. In unserer Nachbarschaft können Sie erleben, was aus dieser kleinen Gründung geworden ist, denn dort finden Sie die große Universitätsklinik dieser Stadt.

Viele historische Gebäude finden Sie aber leider nicht mehr in der Stadt. Das älteste Gebäude ist der Warleberger Hof, in dem Sie auch das Kieler Stadtmuseum finden. Auch ist noch ein Flügel des alten Kieler Schlosses vorhanden.

  • Buchen Sie jetzt über unsere Webseite mit dem Rabattcode 'tomkyle10' und erhalten Sie 10 € Nachlass pro Nacht und Zimmer!

    Und so funktioniert es: Rufen Sie unsere Buchungsseite auf und tragen Sie den Rabattcode 'tomkyle10' einfach links in das Feld 'Buchungscode' unter der Zimmerauswahl ein und erhalten Sie für ausgewählte Tage direkt den rabattierten Preis. Dieser ist nur bei Buchung über unsere Webseite gültig.

  • 600m zum Ostsee-Kreuzfahrtterminal (8min Fußweg)

  • 800m zur Altstadt / Fußgängerzone (10min Fußweg)

  • 2000m zum Hauptbahnhof / ZOB (25min Fußweg)

  • Kostenlose Nutzung des gegenüberliegenden Fitnesscenters WellYou

  • Gratis Mineralwasser auf dem Zimmer

  • Gratis Kaffeestation 24h in der Lobby

  • Gratis HighSpeed WLAN auf dem Zimmer

  • Reichhaltiges Frühstücksbuffet

 
Zum Seitenanfang